On the Train

Published by

on

I was not at work today. Why? I was suspended for being late four times last month. Well, that’s the rule. This is just one of those seven days that I have to be punished with. Although, this is quite a privilege for me. I get to have an extra off, never mind if it’s unpaid.

I just miss taking the train and thinking about random thoughts. It’s quite hard to be riding the train here actually, especially when there are fewer trains traveling on that day or there are just too many people.

Anyways, I am working few cities away from where I live. I travel on the train 35 to 45 minutes every day. You cannot really hear your thoughts when you are jammed into a carriage full of noisy people, so instead, I’ll put my earphones on and starts to play music.

Of course, just like anybody else, my favorite part is when I am riding the train going home. Sometimes I don’t wear my earphones. There is something therapeutic just by looking outside the window of the train. I just like looking the moving pictures behind it. Some of my best ideas for a story originates there (although I haven’t been able to find time to etch them into papers).

One of the things I hate about trains is that they travel into tunnels. I hate it when we have to pass under it. I cannot see the lights. It makes me happy to see something bright or something that shines. I don’t know, it makes me sad to just pass under the tunnel while riding on a train.

Leave a comment